The Ojai Valley School has access to many fantastic online databases covering a variety of disciplines courtesy of the Ojai Public Library. Below is a list of some of the more relevant databases along with a brief description on what you can find in them. You can check out a full list of databases on the Ventura County eLibrary page.
To access these databases, simply click on the link and enter the password which can be obtained from Mr. Brough.
Encyclopedia Britannica – The granddaddy of all encyclopedias! A wealth of information on just about every subject, person, place, and thing EVER! Also includes links to verified credible websites, multimedia, periodical articles, and much more. It’ll even give you the citation for anything you use. ZOUNDS!
Gale Virtual Reference Library – Full of encyclopedias and topic-specific reference books. Available in either text or .pdf formats. Also offers the ability to save, share, and/or email articles as well as citation tools. A great resource and good place to start.
Biography in Context – Great database for biographies on just about everyone ever! Includes related periodical articles, websites, news, audio, and video.
World Almanac Online – Authoritative, essential statistics on hundreds of topics. Data can be exported to Excel. Includes full color maps, flags, graphs, and charts.
Global Issues in Context – Authoritative, relevant, and balanced information on important global issues.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context – Over 300 topics are explored on a variety of mostly domestic issues.
World Book Online Info Finder – A comprehensive reference/research site. Includes an online version of the World Book Encyclopedia, magazine articles, full newspapers, biographies, and much, much more.
MedlinePlus – Contains health information from the National Library of Medicine, including extensive information from the National Institutes of Health. The site also provides health information in Spanish.
Literature Resource Center – International in scope and covering all time periods, this database contains full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews of more than 145,000 writers and their works.
America’s News Magazines – Includes full-text articles covering news, lifestyle, science and technology from familiar magazines such as Newsweek and Popular Science.
General OneFile – A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources – newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers – Searchable first-hand accounts and coverage from the following newspapers:
The Los Angeles Times (1881-1989)
The New York Times (1851-2009) with Index (1851-1993)
The Christian Science Monitor (1908-1999)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1995)
The Washington Post (1877-1996)
Science Online – A comprehensive database that covers a broad range of major topics and issues in science and technology through essays, diagrams, illustrations, images, biographies, experiments, activities, and definitions.